shitkatapult strike 107 – CD - out oct 2nd 2009 distribution via mdm and friends or directly at
www.shopkatapult.com, MDM# 48072 UPC: 881390480722 LC 12051.
1. The Beat Of The Heart
2. Return Of The Pure
3. Charlie
4. Working Class
5. On The Corner
6. Grace
7. Signals
8. In The Mood
9. Schön feddich
10. Reclam
11. Opener
c & p www.shitkatapult.com, a division of random noize musick, 2009

DANIEL METEO, Berlin’s jack-of-all-maids, has given his second solo album the satisfyingly irritating title WORKING CLASS. Well, this music wasn’t scraped from the fabric of GM’s corpse with a hammer and sickle. Instead, it conjures up a painting, a patina-soaked classic, a precious collection: odd, heavy, dark, deep, bourgeois. There is something uncanny and old-fashioned about this track collection. Isn’t the entire format a bit passé in this modern digital age, anyway? Right here, right now, its author returns a quiet, but decisive ‘no’. And opts to pack his (steamer) trunk with eleven tracks, veering between house and electronica, that prepare for their grand trip abroad.

It all starts with a deep rush of noise. DANIEL METEO kicks off his class with a roughly hewn club beat, then slathers on layers upon layers of DIY piano loops, fluttering melodies, creaking bass lines and constantly shifting, spellbinding harmonics. Layered density is the name of the game. THE BEAT OF THE HEART launches us into METEO’s cocky and loose definition of house music, a flavour that works equally well on the dancefloor and in the cosy comfort of your own home. Delving deep into related strands, WORKING CLASS shrugs off its house-y pretensions to reveal its true, underlying nature as … a modern soul album. Unshackled from concepts, quotes and its own history, all tracks follow their own mood and take a leisurely stroll through the club scene before a quick dip into the abyss. ON THE CORNER’s massive, dark walls of chords, the soulful clarion’s on RETURN OF THE PURE or the Moodyman-inspired WORKING CLASS cherish and celebrate deepness and groove without any overt gestures, tricky beats or rave-centric hi-hats in favour of a more dreamlike and picturesque composition.

Speaking of old-fashioned: Listening to the album for the first time, you might get the impression that Mr. METEO followed a stringent vinyl route. In a way, the Detroit-esque FM interplay SIGNALS and the trad house homage or GRACE seem to herald a new chapter or classic B-side. A new mood and a new beginning – all of a sudden, there is more levity, more treble, more light and clarity, culminating in the gloriously mumbled vocal track IN THE MOOD. A huge club hit and eminently listenable, its snappy lyrics stick in your brain long after the last chord has faded. In-your-face beats, off chords, techno bass – done. A brief respite for weary souls, the remaining three tracks float dreamily through the evening sky. SCHOEN FEDDICH and OPENER plus the piano exercise RECLAM, with the latter skirting dangerously close to a kitsch-infused piss-take. The melancholic artist? The sad clown? The West-German doctor’s son taking a bow before the shrine of middle-class education, the spirit of craftsmanship, the canon of culture? A knowing wink and a weary smile on his lips, the author replies that he is “tired of running after the latest trends and the forced geekfest of technology.”

The album’s artwork – courtesy of Bianca Strauch – shows a photograph by Daniel’s sister KATHRIN PETERS and depicts the garden of an old bourgeois home. Beautiful classicism. And thus, the title remains nothing more or less than a pleasing verse, an aesthetic image, slightly vague, clear and remarkable.

The album is flanked by another 12“ on SHITKATAPULT, IN CLUB MOOD, featuring remixes by ABE DUQUE. In addition, the vinyl releases METEO 23 (THE BEAT OF THE HEART) and METEO 25 (WORKING 1st CLASS) feature some additional tracks for vinyl lovers plus a number of bonus tracks.

Quote – RESIDENT ADVISOR on The Beat Of The Heart:
Daniel Meteo is one of those rare breed of producers who can turn his hand to almost any style and still find his sound. In the past six years he has released downbeat, hip hop, drum & bass, left-field electronica and techno under a variety of guises. Over the last few years under his own name he has been delving deeper and more exclusively into house and techno, though his sound seems to be constantly referencing and taking into account the breadth of his past explorations. Such is Meteo's latest EP on his own Meteosound imprint, a three tracker that's brimming with disparate ideas. The title track is a simple lesson in wringing out as much feeling from as few sounds as possible. Electronic music can be needlessly overworked and intricate these days with all the available technology, but Meteo keeps it simple with well-structured loops, the main melody a modest pulsing pop progression that pans as it gently mutates atop the raw 4/4 drum track. An austere acidic synth splatters highlights here and there, whilst the overall sound is rounded out by clipped sound fragments firing off insistently. "Guitars" begins life as an atmospheric, almost beatless track, reminiscent of some early Dan Curtin or Morgan Geist interludes. Its stringed instrument (probably not an actual guitar) plucks out a pleasing arrangement as pads softly accompany before a change of tack. A piano now leads the orchestration as the kick drums enter the fray more earnestly. The bass hits are lilting sine waves that help maintain the air of abstraction. "Secrets" likewise never quite makes it with both feet on to the dance floor, its broken offkilter drums for the most part hidden beneath a stifling filter. A nagging looped melody that would otherwise be, well, nagging, is set in context by a deep dub bassline that ties in the disparate elements of the track. These three tracks are engaging in a decidedly slow burning fashion—and all the better for it.&ldquo